Acura Earns Three IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK Ratings

Official release from

Best selling Acura TSX, TL and MDX receive IIHS accolades

12/15/2011 – TORRANCE, Calif.

Acura today announced that three of its best selling models received the highest possible safety rating of TOP SAFETY PICK from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) under its more-stringent testing guidelines implemented last year.

The Acura TSX sedan and wagon, TL and MDX earned the highest-possible score of GOOD in all four ratings, including the more rigorous roof-strength test. According to the IIHS, vehicles rated good for rollover protection have roofs more than twice as strong as the current federal standard requires. The IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK award recognizes vehicles that do the best job of protecting vehicle occupants in front, side, rollover, and rear crashes based on ratings in the Institute’s evaluations.

All 2012 Acura models utilize the Advanced Compatibility Engineering™ (ACE™) body structure. ACE™ is an exclusive body design that enhances occupant protection and crash compatibility in frontal crashes. The ACE™ design utilizes a network of connected structural elements to distribute crash energy more evenly throughout the front of the vehicle. This enhanced frontal crash energy management helps to reduce the forces transferred to the passenger compartment.

Standard safety equipment on all Acura models include Vehicle Stability Assist™ (VSA®) with traction control, an anti-lock braking system (ABS), dual-stage/multiple-threshold front airbags, front-side airbags with passenger side Occupant Position Detection System (OPDS), side curtain airbags for all outboard seating positions, front seats with integrated active head restraints, front seatbelts with automatic tensioning system and load limiters, Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) and Daytime Running Lights (DRL).

About Acura
Acura offers a full line of technologically advanced performance luxury vehicles through a network of 272 dealers within the United States. The 2012 Acura lineup features six distinctive models including the RL luxury performance sedan, the TL performance luxury sedan, the TSX sports sedan and Sport Wagon, the turbocharged RDX crossover SUV, the MDX luxury SUV and the ZDX four-door sports coupe.

[Source: Acura]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *